clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Match Recap: Sacramento Republic FC 1 St. Louis FC 2

Republic unbeaten streak ends at six matches.

Joe de Ocampo/Indomitable City Soccer

Sacramento Republic FC traveled to St. Louis Wednesday night looking to extend their unbeaten streak to seven matches. On the other side, St. Louis was looking to win their four straight and move into a playoff spot.

Republic FC Manager Simon Elliott fielded the following starting XI. It’s worth noting that midfielder Villyan Bijev was unavailable due to yellow card acculumation:

St. Louis would get on the board first in the 5th minute when forward Corey Hertzog picked the ball up after a missed Republic pass and beat Josh Cohen on a 1v1 situation.

Just two minutes later (7th minute), St. Louis forward Kyle Greig made it 2-0 on a header on a corner kick that beat Cohen near post.

In the 67th minute, Jamie Villarreal pulled one back for the Republic. Adam Moffat sent a ball in the box that Jure Matjasic headed toward goal. Villarreal was there to collect it and slide it home to bring the score to 2-1.

Despite a couple of good chances in the remaining 20 plus minutes, the Republic were unable to equalize and dropped their first match since June 30. With the loss, Republic fall to 12-6-7 (43 points), while St. Louis moves to 9-6-8 (35 points).

Republic return home this Saturday, August 18 when they host LA Galaxy II. That match is set to kickoff at 8pm.

Final Stats and Lineup

Sacramento Republic FC: 1 goal, 15 shots, 6 shots on target, 62.9 possession, 6 corners, 3 offsides, 1 yellow card.

St. Louis FC Toros: 2 goals, 14 shots, 7 shots on target, 37.1 possession, 2 corners, 1 offsides, 3 yellow cards.

Republic FC lineup: Josh Cohen; Elliot Hord, Shannon Gomez, Mitchell Taintor, Wilson Kneeshaw (OUT, 63’), Keven Aleman (OUT, 63’), Cole Seiler (OUT, 80’), Adam Moffat, Jeremy Hall; Jure Matjasic (OUT, 81’); Elliott Hord, Cameron Iwasa.

Republic FC bench: Thomas Olsen, Justin Schmidt, Roberto Hategan, Quincy Butler, Christian Eissele (IN, 80’), Luis Espino (IN, 63’), Jamie Villarreal (IN, 63’)